Château de Brissac, Brissac-Quincé, France
Seven storeys high Château of Brissac wonderfully overlooks the vast estate which is spread out into an expanse of rolling hills and forest foliage. The impressive building belonged to the Cosse-Brissac family for five centuries and has an incredible history attached to it. Built over seven floors, the Château de Brissac is the tallest Château in France and known as “the Giant of the Loire Valley”. It was first bought by René de Cossé, the first lord of Brissac back in 1502. Currently, it is home of the 13th Duke of Brissac who looks after the exceptional heritage of this building.
After the Château de Brissac was bought in 1502, it was severely damaged during the French War of Religions and was rebuilt later by the Jacques Corbineau. He aimed to create a tall and remarkable building, but unfortunately, his work was never finished. Today, the façade is a mix of contrasting styles with its Renaissance residential suites and medieval towers.
The Tragic History of Château de Brissac
The Château de Brissacwas initially made as a Medieval Fortress in the 11th century by the counts of Anjou. The building was rebuilt in the 15th century by the Minister to King Charles VII, Pierre de Brézé. The history of Château is sadly stained by the tragic tale of Charlotte de Valois. According to historians, Charlotte de Valois, who was the daughter of King Charles VII and Agnès Sorel, was married to Jacques de Brézé. On a night of May 1477, while Jacques returned home from a hunting trip, he had dinner with his wife and went to sleep. In the middle of the night, a servant woke him up and informed about his wife’s affair with a man named Pierre de Lavergne. After Jacques discovered about her affair, he killed both with his sword. It is believed that Charlotte’s ghost still haunts the building at nights.
The Ghost of Green Lady
The Duke of Brissac and his family, the current residents, have witnessed her ghost roaming the rooms, especially at night. Many guests have also reported seeing her in the tower room of the chapel wearing a green dress. According to some, the most terrifying thing about the ghost is her face. If Charlotte’s spirit looks at you, you’ll notice her face with gaping holes in place of her eyes and nose, similar to a corpse. Along with her sight, her screams and moans are also often heard throughout the castle in the early hours of the day.
Opening Times and Tickets
The castle is open to visitors all year round, but the timings are different every month. See below for the castle’s schedule:
April till the end of June and September
10 am – 12 am & 2 pm to 5 pm every day except Tuesdays
July and August
10 am to 5 pm every day
September and October
10:30 am – 11:30 am & 2:30 pm to 4:30 pm every day except Tuesdays
November to March (During French School Holidays only)
Every day except Tuesdays, two guided visits at 2 pm and 4 pm